As we creep towards the winter season, you’re probably thinking about buying a new insulation layer for winter walking or climbing. Mammut’s Xeron Jacket is quickly becoming an essential piece of kit for all mountain enthusiasts.

untitled-8

I tested one out recently on a cold, windy ascent of Ingleborough in the Yorkshire Dales. First off, I found the fit to be absolutely perfect for me – no loose material, too-long-arms, bagging hood, or saggy back on the Xeron.

I really liked the feel of the jacket when wearing it. At 560g it’s light enough so you don’t feel bogged down by an ultra-bulky jacket, but it’s easily warm enough to keep you feeling snug.

untitled-9

The Xeron boasts Pertex Endurance® water repellent fabric on the shoulders and sleeves, and Pertex Quantum on the main body, and on that drizzly day of hill fog on Ingleborough I didn’t bother with a waterproof outer, deciding to see just how waterproof the Xeron actually is. Surprisingly, not only did it keep me toasty throughout the walk, but it did keep me nicely dry too – admittedly it never really chucked it down, but if it had I’d have pulled on a hard shell outer, as this isn’t intended to be a full-on downpour kind of garment!

Warmth is provided by Mammut’s own brand Ajungilak® OTI Climate synthetic fill insulation, which I find to be great for those cold, windy days. I really like the fleece-lined hand-warmer pockets, and the three-way fully adjustable hood.

Since that initial test on Ingleborough I’ve worn the Xeron a number of times in cold weather, including early winter ascents of Blencathra and Helvellyn, and I am really impressed by the jacket’s performance. With improving synthetics for insulation these days, I feel that jackets like this certainly give the more traditional down-fill a run for their money. Invariably, synthetic insulation layers tend to be cheaper than down-fill too. The Mammut Xeron Jacket retails at £150, which makes it a real contender for the perfect Christmas stocking filler for the outdoor nut in your life (you can also treat yourself to one…)!

The Mammut Xenon Jacket is exclusive to Go Outdoors in the UK – visit Mammut Xeron Jacket at Go Outdoors

To watch a video clip about the jacket visit You Tube

 

