Modern climbing harnesses are designed to be used in a multitude of different ways, and it is rare for one harness to be ideal for all forms of climbing. Some are good for sport routes, others for single pitch, whilst another harness might be better suited to long mountain trad routes, winter climbing, or Alpine mountaineering. The Mammut Togir 3 Slide is designed for multipitch rock and mixed ice routes, and Mammut tell us that it is also suitable for Alpinism, via ferrata, sport climbing, indoor climbing, and big wall routes.

Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness
Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness

While this is largely true, now I’ve thoroughly tested the Togir 3 Slide, I would actually put it down as being most ideal for low-grade mountain routes, general sport climbing or single pitch trad use. For long, hard mountain routes I usually have a larger rack to carry (unless I’m aiming to go particularly light-weight, moving fast on easy ground), and for me at least the four gear loops just aren’t sufficient for racking the full array of trad kit I want to have with me. For sport or single pitch routes this is less of a problem, and the four loops are then more than adequate.

Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness
Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness

The Togir 3 Slide is a very nice harness to wear. Be warned though, I found it noticeable smaller than other harnesses of the ‘same’ size. In all other harnesses I’ve tried I take a size Medium, but I can only just get into the Medium Togir 3 Slide. Interestingly enough I’ve heard from other users of the Togir 3 Slide harness that the Large size is actually huge, so perhaps Mammut need to look into this and make their sizes a bit more standard with other manufacturers. My advice would be to go to a shop and try one on before you buy, and you won’t be disappointed.

Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness
Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness

There are some excellent features on this harness too. I really love the plastic moulding around the tie-in loop on the legs, which not only make tying in easier, but also keeps the rope central at all times, even during a fall. This also helps to reduce wear on the loop, so should make the harness much more durable in the long-term.

Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness
Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness

The back haul-loop is rated to 2kN, which is superb, but I’d like to see a prussik loop attachment on the leg loops too, rated for this purpose, although of course you can get around that by tying a prussik above a belay/abseil device if required, or extending the device itself on a short sling.

The harness is pretty comfy (taking into account my comments on sizing), but it’s not one I would want to spend a lot of time hanging in, so perhaps not the ideal choice for super-hard sport climbs. The padding on waist and legs is definitely on the slim side, which of course helps to keep the weight of the harness down, but this does reduce the amount of comfort you’ll get when wearing it. I spent a couple of hours at my local crag practicing self rescue techniques in this harness, and I can’t say it was the most comfortable experience.

Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness
Mammut Togir 3 Slide Harness

I do like this harness a lot though, and would consider buying a stock of these to loan out to my clients on multi-pitch routes, as I think Mammut have hit a great compromise with the Togir 3 Slide. Reasonable comfort, reasonable weight, enough gear loops for general cragging, and at a reasonable price too (around £60, although cheaper if you shop around online). Togir 3 Slide Harness from Mammut

 

