Hanwag Tatra Lady boot (review by Olivia Abbott)

Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX
Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX

When it comes to tying laces I’m a big fan of both the triple bind and the fell runner’s knot. The triple bind (I made the name up; I’ve no idea what it’s actually called, but it was shown to me by a salesperson when I was buying some running shoes) is when you wind the lace around three times rather than just one before tying the knot, and is a foolproof way of stopping your lace loosening as you walk. The fell runner’s knot is a complicated-to-describe but easy-to-do procedure where when tying the bow you take the second loop through the centre of the knot a second time. This stops your lace coming undone.
Both of these procedures work brilliantly – but unfortunately, only really successfully on flat laces. So I was really pleased to discover that the Hanwag Tatra Lady boot has a flat lace. First impressions count and therefore I was already looking on my pair with a benign eye – also helped by the fact that it’s a good-looking boot: dark brown, nubuck leather, so no fancy patterns, just plain sophistication, plus the leather carries the ‘terracare’ label, which means it is eco-friendly. It actually comes in a number of colours – I really like the look of the dark grey.
They’re a small fit – I had to go a half-size up from my usual, but on they feel supportive (helped by the high, well-padded ankle), secure and snug, and a good shape,with no sloppy sliding around inside the boot.

Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX
Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX

Not as meaty as a full-on winter boot, none the less the Vibram soles give a definite ‘bouncy’ feel on tarmac. And they’ve all the sorts of features you’d expect of a boot in this price range, including Goretex lining. My feet get quite hot in them – I’m ready to take them off at the end of a good walk – but these are a good ‘mid-season’ boot, for when you need something a bit sturdier than a lightweight summer boot, when you’re planning on doing some serious mountain routes, but aren’t looking for anything too stiff and heavy or needing to take crampons.

Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX
Hanwag Lady Tatra GTX

For product details go to: Hanwag Tatra Lady GTX

