The Wall Guide Low from Mammut
The Wall Guide Low from Mammut

I made no bones about the fact that I wasn’t blown away by the Redburn Pro approach shoe that Mammut came out with last year. So, it was nice to be able to test the new Wall Guide Low that is replacing the Redburns this year.

The pair of Wall Guide Lows I was sent to test fitted much better than the Redburns, and I liked the more subdued colour too. Gone was the velvety-red tongue, and in came the much more work-man-like brown and yellow of the Wall Guide. I liked the look of the Wall Guide immediately, and was really keen to try them out on approach walks to the crags.

The styling is good on the Wall Guide Low, and the overall comfort is pretty good too. One thing I don’t like is the lacing, which is asymmetrical, as this seems to make it actually quite difficult to get the right fit when out walking. I don’t like my toes to be bunched up (well, who does?), but I found that when I first put the Wall Guides on I get the lace tension absolutely perfect, but during the walk in the laces actually tighten towards the toe, and slacken towards the ankle. This can be a bit annoying, and leads to the heel lifting out of the boot while your toes get more and more constricted. This means that I have to stop to retie to keep comfortable. I do think this is something that Mammut will have to rethink, as I can’t be alone in wanting a shoe that remains tensioned correctly throughout a walk.

That aside, the Wall Guide is comfortable when the laces are tensioned correctly. They feel good on a wide variety of terrain too, from wet grass to shale and scree. I’ve used mine to approach crags high in Borrowdale and Langdale, and find them light enough to clip to the back of my harness when climbing, ready for the stony descents after the climb is completed.

The Wall Guide Low from Mammut
The Wall Guide Low from Mammut

I’ve also used the Wall Guide Low extensively when working with groups on single pitch crags, and find them great for hanging around in all day, for working in safely at the top of crags, and even for easy climbs and abseiling.

The Wall Guide Low from Mammut
The Wall Guide Low from Mammut

The Mammut Wall Guide Low retail at around £100, so are competitively priced. Check them out here: The Mammut Wall Guide Low

 

