There are bits of kit or clothing that come along from time to time that make you feel a certain way. Some mountain jackets make you feel like you’re wearing a sack of spuds, whereas others, like the Vaude Lagalp Jacket, just makes you feel like a mountain superstar.  I tend to not lust after items of clothing very much, but when I popped along to my local outdoor retailer, Mad About Mountains in Kirkby Stephen, to buy some new crampons, my eye fell on the Lagalp Jackets, and I knew there and then what love at first sight felt like. I just simply had to have one. ‘Which colour would you like?’, I was asked, and thankfully my initial reaction of, ‘all of them!’ was quelled and I plumped for the Hydro Blue.

The Lagalp Hooded Jacket in Hydro Blue
The Lagalp Hooded Jacket in Hydro Blue

I first wore mine on the hill in a snowstorm. I was running a walking course that quickly developed into a winter walking course as the snow fell thick and heavy from a white sky. I started out on that day with my Lagalp on as an outer layer, thinking I’d be adding a waterproof pretty soon, but found that I didn’t really need it. The Lagalp is a softshell, which to me means very windproof, comfy, some warmth, and a bit waterproofing ability, but the offering from Vaude just kept me comfortable and dry all day when everyone else on the mountain was wrapped up to the nostrils in hardshells.

Lagalp-5

I obviously wear a lot of outdoor gear, pretty much every day of my life. I’m a member of the Mountain Training Association, and am very proud to be so, and when I’m working in the mountains, looking professional is nearly as important to me as being professional. There aren’t too many garments that I will happily pin my Mountain Training Association badge to, but the Vaude Lagalp is certainly one of them. It has very, very quickly become my jacket of choice in all weathers, be it wet or dry, windy or calm, rainy or snowy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the cut and styling of the Lagalp. I love the colours. I adore the fact that the pockets are in absolutely the very best place for entry, whether out walking, winter mountaineering, or wearing a harness. I find the long under-arm pit zips superb for ventilation, and the hood just perfect over a climbing helmet. The thumb-loops are great for keeping the sleeves extended as you reach for that next hold, and the material has just the right amount of stretch too. The Lagalp just oozes charm and quality. If Aston Martin made outdoor jackets they would look just like the Lagalp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Any regrets over my initial head-over heals fling with the Lagalp? Well only that I didn’t also get one in Pistachio, and one in Black too!

Oh, and in my excitement I almost forgot to mention that the Lagalp Jacket is part of the Green Shape range from Vaude, guaranteeing that it is made from sustainable materials, resource-conserving manufacturing and fair production. I mean, come on. What is there not to love about it? Vaude Lagalp Hooded Jacket

