This was another interesting product for me to review. I’m not a film buff, don’t have a TV, and climb Helvellyn more times a year than most people. So, what did I think of the DVD, “The Lake District – Helvellyn” by Mark Richards?

DVD

First of all I was delighted to see that the filming is the work of Terry Abraham. Terry is of course well know for his own films of the high fells of the Lake District, so I was really looking forward to settling down with a nice glass of wine and some stunning footage of one of my favourite fells.

The film is actually split into three parts, one covering a walk up Grisedale and onto the east ridge of Nethermost Pike via Hard Tarn, another via the seldom-visited Brownrigg Well, and the final one up the classic ridge of Striding Edge.

screen 1

When Mark Richards sent me the film to review he mentioned that they’d not always had the greatest weather for filming when he and Terry shot the various sequences. The first walk, via Hard Tarn and Nethermost Pike, was a good illustration of this, but I loved it. Helvellyn isn’t always sunny, and this film showed it in all its glory even on the cloudiest of days. Mark’s enthusiasm shone through, despite the lack of views.

It was great, from my own perspective, to see Mark visiting some of my own favourite secret places on the mountain, and also to see that he shared days out on the hill with a few familiar faces too. But you’ll have to buy the DVD yourselves to find out more!

This DVD will appeal to any lover of Lakeland, whether they be keen fellwalker or armchair enthusiast. At just under 1 hour running time, you’ll find it a very, very pleasant way to spend a wet evening, or perhaps Christmas Day afternoon (hint, hint!).

You can order ‘Helvellyn’ direct from http://www.stridingedge.com

 

