An impressive thing happened here recently at GUM (Graham Uney Mountaineering) towers. I was contacted by a PR company with the instruction that they were sending me a 21oz Hydro Flask to test and review. No great shakes, I thought. However, they let me know when the flask was being sent, and asked if I could open the package as soon as it arrived to see what was inside.

Intrigue gripped me. First of all, I wondered, would the courier manage to find our address (they often struggle, and things arrive days after they should!)? And, once the Hydro package did arrive, what would I find inside?

All went well. The package came the following day, about 24 hours after postage. There was an odd tinkling noise from within. I opened it open to find a lovely bright red Hydro Flask, carefully carrying some ice cubes and a bit of water. These, remember, had been posted the previous day! Very impressive indeed.

The Hydro Flask has been a big hit over in the North America, and is making inroads into the UK outdoor market. I like the look of the flask, and use it often in the hills, but is it really the ideal hydration solution for hillwalking and mountaineering in the UK?

Hydroflask

Well, I think that very much depends on how you like to hydrate! I personally am very unlikely to want to put ice cubes in my drink for use on the hill. In the summer months in the UK my water bottle very rarely gets so warm that it becomes undrinkable, and more often than not I’m taking water from lovely flowing mountain streams anyway. Of course the Hydro Flask arrived with me just before the winter, so I tried it with hot drinks instead.

Hydro Flask tell us that the 21oz flask can keep drinks cold for 24 hours (and I’ve seen that it can certainly do that), and hot for 6 hours. That for me is a bit of a negative. I want a flask to keep drinks hot for a lot longer than that, and many of my cheap and cheerful buy-from-the-petrol-station-with-£20-of-fuel flasks will do the job admirably. The other downside to the Hydro Flask from a hot drinks point of view is that this particular flask doesn’t come with a cup, which all other flasks do, so if you want hot coffee, tea, or whatever on the hill you have to carry a separate cup with you. That’s a bit of a faff I’m afraid.

Hydroflask and cup

The weight of the Hydro Flask empty is certainly more than a 1l Sigg bottle, and with a cup thrown in for drinking hot liquids it is also more than my cheap and cheerful flask.

However, the Hydro Flask is certainly well made, comes with a lifetime warranty, and I think if you dream of ice cold drinks on those balmy summer days in the UK mountains, then this has got to be on your wish list for Christmas.

The Hydro Flask 21oz Standard Mouth retails in the UK for around £25. For more info visit Hydro Flask

