I’ve recently come to realise just how behind the times I was when it came to choosing daysacks for lowland walking. For mountain pursuits – climbing, scrambling, winter skills, and the like, I have a lot to say about the kind of rucksack you might want to buy, but for a lowland country walk I’ve kind of always thought that any old bag would do. In fact, what I tended to do was to use one of my mountain sacks and only half fill it.

The day the Brenta 25 from Vaude arrived for review was the day I began my education. First impressions were, “Wow! This looks good”, “A load of effort and careful thought has gone into this design”, and “I wouldn’t mind half of these features on some of my supposedly more ‘technical’ climbing packs”.

Vaude Brenta 05

One thing that really stood out was just how adjustable everything is on the Brenta. Being a bloke I often find that smaller daypacks just aren’t that comfy on my longish back, but thanks to Vaude’s Aeroflex Easy Adjust Suspension System and F.L.A.S.H. shoulder strap adjustment (yes, I know, it does sound a bit like a cross between a German car and a stripper’s bra!) I had it just the right fit for me in a jiffy.

Vaude Brenta 01

 

Vaude Brenta 07

One feature of the Brenta that differs from all of my climbing rucksacks is that it has external pockets, and quite a few of them. Now, for climbing, you don’t want pockets that can snag on rock or ice, but for a lowland walk – I’ve tested the Brenta 25 on two National Navigation Award Scheme courses, a Lowland Leader Award training course, and a handful of countryside walks with my wife and dog – I’ve actually discovered that pockets are really, really useful. The Brenta 25 sports one front and two stretch pockets as well as the usual ones in the lid (inside and out). The padded hip belt also has two small pockets, one on either side (ideal for car keys, dog biscuits, jelly babies, and other essentials).

Vaude Brenta 04

There are side compression straps and a couple of pole loops too, and yes, the sack is hydration system compatible.

These are all just the technical details though. What I really like about the Brenta 25 is the very obvious attention to detail that Vaude have put into this. The daysack simply oozes quality. It is clearly very well made, and I’m certain will keep carrying my loads for a long time.

Vaude Brenta 09

One thing’s for sure, on any day where I don’t need to carry a heavy rack of climbing kit, or a load of spare mountain clothing in case my clients forget something, the Brenta 25 will be my sack of choice. Well done Vaude, you’ve produced a winner!

Vaude Brenta 03

RRP £80.

Weight 1080g

Volume 25 litres

Dimensions 54 x 30 x 23 cm

Colours: Holly Green, Black, Red, Teal Blue

