Had a walk from Pistyll Rhaeadr up onto the high Berwyn today. Patches of hard snow higher up, and fresh stuff falling, quite heavily at times, made for interesting walking, while the cloud-base lowered over the summits as I approached.

My walk took me from Pistyll Rhaeadr up Nant y Llyn to the hidden tarn of Llyn Lluncaws. Here I sat and had lunch and watched a group of school kids from Shrewsbury High (I parked next to their liveried minibus in the car park) descend off Moel yr Ewig.

I followed a grassy rake up onto Moel yr Ewig, then picked up a snowy shelf slanting to the col between Moel Sych and Cadair Berwyn. From there just a short walk to the north-east brought the ‘new’ summit of Cadair Berwyn underfoot – I say ‘new’ summit because the old maps showed both Moel Sych and Cadair Berwyn as 827 metres high. There is a bump in between the two, and more recently when this ‘bump’ was surveyed it was discovered to be 830m, so a ‘new’ summit for the entire range.

So, over the summit in thick mist as fresh snow fell, and on to the ‘old’ summit at a lowly 827m. Then a walk back along the ridge to Moel Sych, and down by the ridge of Trum Felen.

I picked up a fair amount of fresh rubbish along the walk today:

  • 1 banana peel
  • 1 orange peel
  • 1 French bean
  • 1 plastic bottle
  • 7 tissues (disgusting, I know)
  • and 1 Red Nose Day red nose.

No idea who dropped this little lot, but the only people I saw all day were the group from Shrewsbury.

Wildlife sightings of the day were pretty good, despite the crappy weather.

  • 2 Ravens
  • 1 Peregrine Falcon
  • 2 Red Grouse (male and female)
  • and 1 probable Hen Harrier – it quartered the hillside in front of me, but then vanished into the mist

All in all, a very good day!

