As most people know, the Shetland Islands provide a superb nesting ground for a whole host of different seabird species, but the one that is arguably the chief crowd-pleaser has to be the little Puffin. Yes, I did say little. People seem to have this idea that Puffins are quite large – it’s the similarity with Penguins I guess (to which they are not related in any way), but to be honest they are tiny birds, and I think this just adds to their obvious attraction.

In Shetland there are a number of places where you can go to see them – the best known being Sumburgh Head at the southern tip of Mainland, or Hermaness at the northern tip of the island of Unst. There are lots of other good spots for Puffins, but I’m going to keep those to myself, mainly as I make a living (www.shetlandwalkingandwildlife.co.uk) from showing people these comically seabirds and don’t want to give away too many trade secrets!

Hope you enjoy the photos – these were all taken at Sumburgh Head by the way.

